T-Splines
T-Splines

Current version

Download the current version.

Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino: v4.0 Download

Featured threads

The links below lead to some of our favorite forum threads.

052775 052099

29164 052640

29164 29164

052346 052775


See more featured threads.

Webinars

Date Topics  
7/09 Creating stunning jewelry designs with T-Splines View
5/07 How to approach modeling with T-Splines View
3/07 Carl Bass reintroduces T-Splines for Rhino View
6/21 Transitioning from NURBS to T-Splines View
12/07 Footwear modeling with T-Splines 3.3 for Rhino View
11/29 New T-Splines reverse engineering tools View
10/28 How T-Splines changed my aproach to making jewelry in CAD View
09/29 Modeling a water gun View
09/07 Car modeling:
Parts 1, 2, & 3
View
07/06 tsElements intro
hosted by Novedge
View
06/22 Free-form Architecture View
06/15 TS Pipe command View
06/08 T-Splines for Rhino intro View

Working with a mesh with too many points

A support and feedback forum for Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino users.

Working with a mesh with too many points

Postby lax26 » Wed May 18, 2016 12:53 pm

I have a mesh that the creator made using JewelCAD. They exported it for me using a quad mesh format because in one of Kyle's videos he talks about that being the best format for Tsplines. The mesh is recognized as a Tsplines mesh and has a lot of points, so much that it is hard to manipulate the design. Is there a way to easily create a Tsplines surface from a mesh? If not what suggestions might you have for working with this type of file?
-Daniel
lax26
Poster
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:10 am

Re: Working with a mesh with too many points

Postby JSantocono » Thu May 19, 2016 7:05 am

Hi Daniel.
Very dense mesh (even a quad mesh) can be hard to manipulate once is converted to T-Splines.
Unfortunately there are no "one step" solutions.

You can use the T-Splines Retopo tools to remodel, but is not easy. Depending on the shape of the model, it can take a lot of work to reverse engineering... And you wont get exactly the same surface. You can try that if you are able to spend time on it.

Also, I would suggest to set all the display settings to "Fastest" (inside tsOptions :tsOptions: ) and see if that helps with the slow manipulation problem.

Another side solution that I apply when I get a very dense and slow T-Splines surface is to split the surface into several parts, and keep modeling/editing/preparing on each part at a time. This helps to get faster manipulation. You can Weld all together at the end. It also depends on how the surface is, but I can say that I applied it successfully several times.

Hope this helps.
JuanS
User avatar
JSantocono
Poster
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:18 am
Location: Argentina


Return to Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests