T-Splines
T-Splines

Current version

Download the current version.

Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino v3.4 Download
Autodesk tsElements v1.2 Download

Featured threads

The links below lead to some of our favorite forum threads.

052775 052099

29164 052640

29164 29164

052346 052775


See more featured threads.

Webinars

Date Topics  
7/09 Creating stunning jewelry designs with T-Splines View
5/07 How to approach modeling with T-Splines View
3/07 Carl Bass reintroduces T-Splines for Rhino View
6/21 Transitioning from NURBS to T-Splines View
12/07 Footwear modeling with T-Splines 3.3 for Rhino View
11/29 New T-Splines reverse engineering tools View
10/28 How T-Splines changed my aproach to making jewelry in CAD View
09/29 Modeling a water gun View
09/07 Car modeling:
Parts 1, 2, & 3
View
07/06 tsElements intro
hosted by Novedge
View
06/22 Free-form Architecture View
06/15 TS Pipe command View
06/08 T-Splines for Rhino intro View

T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper addon

A support and feedback forum for Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino users.

T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper addon

Postby TomFinnigan » Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:12 pm

As part of our v3 work, we've also been improving our integration with Grasshopper.

The new T-Splines Grasshopper addon works with T-Splines 3 for Rhino, and has been tested with Grasshopper 0.8.0062. Most people will only need the gha file.

Downloads:

To install the addon, download TSplinesGH.gha (above), and put it into your Grasshopper component library directory. The easiest way to do this is to drag and drop it onto your Grasshopper window. If you're having trouble loading it, sometimes Windows 7 or Vista needs it to be marked 'safe' before it will open. You can do this in Windows 7 using Properties > General > Unblock (at the bottom right).



The four components we've made are conversion, face extrusion, face information, and piping. They're under the 'extra' tab.

The component is a work in progress, however the key change in this version is that we're exposing more of our T-Spline surface to c#, so if you're proficient with c# you may find the source to the component useful.

Please note: T-Splines v3.4 for Rhino doesn't work properly with Grasshopper. There is a fixed version, v3.4.1, which works with Grasshopper. More details here.

Here is the 32 bit download (for Rhino 4, and Rhino 5 32-bit)
Here is the 64 bit download (for Rhino 5 64-bit)

And if you're interested in T-Splines and Grasshopper, we'd love to get your feedback on the v4 beta.

If you're looking for the T-Splines 2.3 Grasshopper component it's here.
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby Hamishk » Wed Jan 05, 2011 11:38 am

Thanks for the video.

With respect to grasshopper, I'm still waiting for the lightbulb to go fully on in my head. There seems to be a bit more light now.
Hamishk
Poster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:02 am

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:08 am

That's pretty understandable - grasshopper is essentially a visual programming language for making geometry. So, it's pretty different than most other modeling.
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby bobro » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:33 am

Hello guys,
I have two situacions in my computer:

1- Rhinojewell ( It's Rhino 4! ) + T-Splines 2.3 + Grasshopper 0.0.80004

This is for " work" !!!

2- Rhino 5 (64) + Tsplines wip3 + Maxwell 2.5 (64) + ????

This is for " play " !!!

But in in the second set where I would like to try this new components I don't have Grasshopper...
Someone know how I install Grasshopper 0.0.80004 here?
Thankyou
bobro
bobro
Poster
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:57 am

What I did was install it in V5 using the _PluginManager window, Install button. Just browse to the Grasshopper plugin installed for V4. (for me it's c:\Program Files (x86)\Rhinoceros 4.0\Plug-ins\Grasshopper\GrasshopperPlugin.rhp)
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby bobro » Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:07 pm

Hi Tom
.....c:\Program Files (x86)\Rhinoceros 4.0\Plug-ins\Grasshopper\.....NO..."GrasshopperPlugin.rhp"
but I have 5 carpet(component ,cursors,icons,rh_common,tools) without an .rhp file or others files!?!

One moment please...I think that this PluginManager window of rhino 5 not "see" rhp files. Whit Commander I see this file!!! It exist!?!
bobro
bobro
Poster
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 12:41 pm
Location: Madrid

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby arystoteles » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:00 pm

aaaaaa thank you for a nice tutorial! :)
arystoteles
Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:53 am

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby arystoteles » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:09 pm

Is there any chance to make the tsPipe component to modify t values near the joints?
arystoteles
Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:53 am

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:06 pm

arystoteles wrote:Is there any chance to make the tsPipe component to modify t values near the joints?


Sure. Would a distance or straight t-value be more useful? Global settings are easier, but per-pipe is also possible..
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP Grasshopper component

Postby tommsen » Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:18 am

Sure. Would a distance or straight t-value be more useful? Global settings are easier, but per-pipe is also possible..


I think It would be best solution to add a boolean toggle to switch between distance and t-values. It really depends on the projektsetup.
I like the idea of global and local setting. A Input where i can set index numbers and a additional input for global or local setting.
Thanks
Tom
tommsen
Poster
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 Beta Grasshopper component

Postby NOBODYILI » Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:36 am

Hey thanks for the wonderful plug-in! I was wondering if you have the tspline plug-in for Grasshopper 0.8.0006 version? This one doesn't seem to work on my 0.8.0006 GH version.

Thank you so much!
NOBODYILI
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:33 am

Re: T-Splines v3 Beta Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Wed Mar 02, 2011 5:37 pm

NOBODYILI wrote:Hey thanks for the wonderful plug-in! I was wondering if you have the tspline plug-in for Grasshopper 0.8.0006 version? This one doesn't seem to work on my 0.8.0006 GH version.


Thanks for the heads up. I've updated the download link on the top post to have a version compatible with 0.8.0006
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 Beta Grasshopper component

Postby monokuro » Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:06 pm

Is this component compatible with Grasshopper 8.0007? I can't seem to get it to load...
monokuro
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:03 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 Beta Grasshopper component

Postby tommsen » Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:11 am

right click on the TSplines.gha and select properties. In this menu on the bottom right corner there is a button called unblock. Click it and it will work as expected

cheers
[uto]

monokuro wrote:Is this component compatible with Grasshopper 8.0007? I can't seem to get it to load...
tommsen
Poster
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: T-Splines 3 Grasshopper component

Postby Matthew » Thu May 05, 2011 1:29 pm

Hello Tom; I am trying to run the latest t-spline plugin with grasshopper build 8.0010 and having some difficulties installing it. Have you tested the latest t-splines grasshopper component with this build? If so does it work and am I doing something wrong, if not will you be developing a t-spline component for the latest build of grasshopper. Thank you
Matthew
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 1:23 pm

Re: T-Splines 3 Grasshopper component

Postby tommsen » Sat May 14, 2011 1:13 am

Hi Matthew,
T-splines component is working fine, can you describe your problem?
tommsen
Poster
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: T-Splines 3 Grasshopper component

Postby alkrever » Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:53 pm

Hi: The component tsPipe seems to be working with the exception that it will not Preview. Baking the tpip results in the expected tspline. Routing the TS output into a Brep does the job. Is this the correct behavior?
V5 64 8.000.10 latest tspline gha
Al
alkrever
Poster
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: T-Splines 3 Grasshopper component

Postby dougie fresh » Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:31 am

I've recently downloaded the tsplines v 3 demo and the corresponding grasshopper component to try the new tspipe tool in grasshopper. unfortunately when i hook up what look to be the proper components i get the following error,

Runtime messages

The object contains the following messages

Errors:
Solution exception: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
dougie fresh
Poster
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:40 am

Re: T-Splines 3 Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Fri Jul 01, 2011 1:19 pm

Just a quick note to those watching the thread - I made some changes to 3.1 and this component, so that you'll be able to get extrude working again, and pipe is now much more fully-functional.
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby jackhu8809 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:56 am

Hey thanks for the wonderful plug-in! I was wondering if you have the tspline plug-in for Grasshopper 0.8.0013 version? This one doesn't seem to work on my 0.8.0013 GH version on Rhino 5 64bit.

Thank you so much!
jackhu8809
Poster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:42 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby Casyfill » Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:34 am

Hi! Really please please update your plugin for grasshopper 0.8050 we want to use it in our huge workshop!
Casyfill
Poster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:43 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Tue Aug 09, 2011 11:59 am

Hi, sorry about that. I recompiled it with the latest version of Grasshopper, let me know if there are problems.
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby Martin Siegrist » Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:03 pm

I installed the plugin and I can see it under extra in grasshopper. However when I right click on the menu to see component info it doesn't show any location. I tried a couple things according to the video in this thread but all I get is a runtime error saying: Methode nicht gefunden / method not found....

I attached a screenshot

Thanks for your help
Attachments
grasshopper_issue_02.png
runtime error
Martin Siegrist
Poster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby Casyfill » Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:12 am

Cool! Thank you!
Is there any way to bridge two t-spline opjects in grasshopper?
Casyfill
Poster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:43 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby jackhu8809 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:02 am

Martin Siegrist wrote:I installed the plugin and I can see it under extra in grasshopper. However when I right click on the menu to see component info it doesn't show any location. I tried a couple things according to the video in this thread but all I get is a runtime error saying: Methode nicht gefunden / method not found....

I attached a screenshot

Thanks for your help

Unluckily I come up with the same problem as you do. How to slove this problem ?

I attached a screenshot too
Image
Image
jackhu8809
Poster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:42 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby Martin Siegrist » Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:50 pm

I downloaded the latest T-Splines update (3.1), latest Grasshopper plugin and the GH component works fine now. Problem solved
Martin Siegrist
Poster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 2:29 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby jackhu8809 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:51 pm

Problem solved. Thank you. :D
jackhu8809
Poster
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 9:42 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby al2000 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:37 am

Hello Tom
a demand:
The file- (TSplineGH_source_7509 ) runs with
RhV4 SR9 /Gh 0.7.0052 / TsV3 (Valutation Version) ?
tanks in advanced
al
-Sorry for my bad english-
al2000
Poster
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:42 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby dougie fresh » Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:11 am

as i'm sure the grasshopper component is in a long list of things that are in the making for tsplines, i wanted to make a request. the tspipe command has a variety of options available in rhino but not in grasshopper. (ie Segments, Joint, etc.) Would it be possible to make this separate inputs? Also, the symmetry tool would be great too. Thanks ahead of time.
dougie fresh
Poster
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:40 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby hunkatibor » Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:41 am

Hi Tom
I am very lame. I cannot install the program. What the command is needed into a row to write , that settle .
Tibor :oops:
hunkatibor
Poster
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:36 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby Adam Helps » Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:50 pm

al2000 wrote:Hello Tom
a demand:
The file- (TSplineGH_source_7509 ) runs with
RhV4 SR9 /Gh 0.7.0052 / TsV3 (Valutation Version) ?
tanks in advanced
al
-Sorry for my bad english-


I think you are asking whether the Grasshopper plugin works on the evaluation version of T-Splines. I believe it does not. We do make it possible to do evaluations of Grasshopper, using a time-limited trial instead of a save-limited trial. To do that, you would need to talk to a salesperson at T-Splines. Or, of course, you could buy it, which also works ;).
User avatar
Adam Helps
Employee
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Provo, Utah

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby Adam Helps » Fri Sep 09, 2011 4:51 pm

hunkatibor wrote:Hi Tom
I am very lame. I cannot install the program. What the command is needed into a row to write , that settle .
Tibor :oops:


I'm sorry you can't install it :(.

I don't understand the second part of your question. Maybe a screenshot or video of the problem would help.
User avatar
Adam Helps
Employee
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Provo, Utah

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby hunkatibor » Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:58 am

Hi Adam
You should write the second of a teaching video first pair down , what I shall make punctually . I can install everything , only this not .
Tibor
http://www.tsplines.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=33698
Attachments
video.PNG
video
video.PNG (38.01 KiB) Viewed 36238 times
hunkatibor
Poster
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 6:36 am

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby edion86 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:33 pm

I'm having the problem that somepeople had before. Componen tsConvert doesn't work. Is the plug-in working with rhinoV5 and the new beta from TSplines?

(Location from the components don't show a folder direction)
edion86
Poster
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.1 Grasshopper component

Postby edion86 » Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:46 pm

Location appears empty when trying to uninstall older components. Can anyone help?

(w7, rhinoV5, tsplines3.2 (try), grasshopper0.8)
edion86
Poster
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:42 pm

Just a note that this has been recompiled for Grasshopper 0.8.0062
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:12 pm

Just a note that I rebuilt this for T-Splines 3.3 r7971, which includes a new component for welding.

Here's an example network showing it, which converts a simple Brep (like the output from Box) into a smooth T-Spline, as an example.
Attachments
gh_brep_box_to_tspline.png
gh_brep_box_to_tspline.png (16.18 KiB) Viewed 34473 times
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby lucky » Thu Dec 22, 2011 2:11 am

i like...
lucky
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 2:14 am

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby knead » Wed Feb 22, 2012 5:32 pm

I'm testing in Windows 7 64bit:
Rhino V5 (7-Feb, 2012)
Grasshopper (22-Jan, 2012)

Image "Runtime Errors"...
Do you know what it means?
Attachments
Error.zip
(1.59 MiB) Downloaded 350 times
User avatar
knead
Poster
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Seoul, Republic of Korea

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:45 pm

So Knead, is this on a demo version, or a full version of t-splines?

Version information on the grasshopper plugin and the t-splines plugin would be very helpful.
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby knead » Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:27 pm

For now, :D
  • Demo version of T-Splines: Build 3.3 r0831
  • Work in Progress version of Grasshopper: Build 0.8.0066
User avatar
knead
Poster
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Seoul, Republic of Korea

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby TomFinnigan » Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:13 pm

Oh, that's the problem - the grasshopper plugin only works with the full version, or a time-limited demo (there's a small error message in the Rhino history window)

I'll email you a 30-day demo key.
User avatar
TomFinnigan
Poster
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby knead » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:40 am

Thank you so much. Image
User avatar
knead
Poster
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Seoul, Republic of Korea

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby car » Tue May 01, 2012 3:28 pm

Demo version of T-Splines: Build 3.3 r08031.
Is it possible to send me a 30-day demo key?

Thanks
car
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 3:15 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby Matt Sederberg » Thu May 03, 2012 10:02 am

car wrote:Demo version of T-Splines: Build 3.3 r08031.
Is it possible to send me a 30-day demo key?

Thanks


Sure, just email tsplines.help@autodesk.com.

Matt
User avatar
Matt Sederberg
Employee
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:27 am
Location: Provo, UT

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby Matt82 » Mon May 07, 2012 6:23 am

Hey Guys,

TSPipe Command seems to be broken in GH 8.66 using the lastest Rhino 5 beta. Yet the command works fine in rhino 5 still.

As soon as i plug in my referenced crvs the component turns red and error Object refernece not set as an instance of an object.

Any Chance of fixing this,.

Also would be great to be able to reference T-splines into GH in the same way as crvs.

Another request, any chance of the Tsplines from line command being created in GH aswell.

Thanks
Matt
Matt82
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 5:28 am

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby lzjjjs » Tue May 22, 2012 11:33 pm

Thanks so much :)
User avatar
lzjjjs
Poster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 8:00 pm

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby aubergine2001 » Thu Oct 04, 2012 5:08 pm

Can anyone explain how the fsPipe works in Grasshopper. I have a lot of filigree pipe to do and this may save me some time, if I can figure it out. I have added a curve and number sliders, but it is giving me a red / error component. I have tried out putting to mesh / brep & surface. Tips anyone, the component used in the video is a lot simpiler than the onw in Grasshopper 9.010.
Thanks in advance,
Randy
User avatar
aubergine2001
Poster
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:37 am
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby cbarlieb » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:24 am

Very nice component.

a wish from my side, to maybe make it simpler to spot the TS output would be to create a TS Parameter, this could also be used as an input too somewhere down the line.

For the time being I'm simply using the Geometry Param though.

Thanks,
C
cbarlieb
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: T-Splines 3.3 Grasshopper component

Postby DetroitDesign » Sat Mar 09, 2013 4:46 pm

Where can I download the latest grasshopper component for t-splines build 8555
for Rhino 5 (64) running Grasshopper build 0.8666?

Thanks!
User avatar
DetroitDesign
Poster
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:31 am

Next

Return to Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests