T-Splines
T-Splines

Current version

Download the current version.

Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino: v4.0 Download

Featured threads

The links below lead to some of our favorite forum threads.

052775 052099

29164 052640

29164 29164

052346 052775


See more featured threads.

Webinars

Date Topics  
7/09 Creating stunning jewelry designs with T-Splines View
5/07 How to approach modeling with T-Splines View
3/07 Carl Bass reintroduces T-Splines for Rhino View
6/21 Transitioning from NURBS to T-Splines View
12/07 Footwear modeling with T-Splines 3.3 for Rhino View
11/29 New T-Splines reverse engineering tools View
10/28 How T-Splines changed my aproach to making jewelry in CAD View
09/29 Modeling a water gun View
09/07 Car modeling:
Parts 1, 2, & 3
View
07/06 tsElements intro
hosted by Novedge
View
06/22 Free-form Architecture View
06/15 TS Pipe command View
06/08 T-Splines for Rhino intro View

T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

A support and feedback forum for Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino users.

T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Matt Sederberg » Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:19 pm

T-Splines v3 WIP3 is now available.

T-Splines v3 WIP3 has known bugs and we would not recommend using it for commercial use. However, if you would like to download and try out the new features, we would welcome your feedback to help us shape the final look of v3!

Download latest WIP

Requirements:
  • A T-Splines v2 license
  • Rhino v4 SR8, or Rhino v5 2010-11-30 (32 or 64 bit)

Important notes:
  • If you're upgrading the 64-bit plugin, you'll need to manually uninstall it first.
  • You may need to use tsSymmetry to rediscover symmetry from T-Splines v2 files.
  • Please submit crash reports to McNeel so we can fix them.

New in WIP 3
  • Many speed/memory improvements.
  • Crashes are now being passed to Rhino's crash reporting rather than being caught by T-Splines during the WIP period. Please submit the crashes to McNeel so we can fix them.
  • tsPull now lets you subdivide faces while in the command to get a closer fit.
  • tsPull can now pull surface points as well as control points.
  • tsPull can now pull to all visible objects in the scene.
  • Fixed some surface deformation with tsInterpolate
  • tsThicken now supports symmetric models
  • Fixed crashes where we were loading v2 symmetry. If you have files with v2 symmetry, you'll need to re-discover symmetry with tsSymmetry
  • The 32-bit installer now installs to Rhino v4 and Rhino v5.
  • The 64-bit installer no longer uninstalls the 32-bit plugin. As a side-effect, if you're upgrading the 64-bit plugin you'll need to manually uninstall it first.
  • Selection set display is more up to date
  • Fixed a crash in tsConvert
  • Fixed some crashes in tsPipe

New in WIP 2
  • 64-bit version - This version works with Rhino 5 WIP 2010-11-04.
  • Fixed crash in V5 32-bit.
  • Fixed crash in Grasshopper.
  • OBJ export no longer requires converting to a rhino mesh.

New in WIP 1
New commands
  • tsPipe, a powerful, easy-to-use command that creates a T-spline out of a network of intersecting curves. Enabled with Rhino history!
  • tsSelectionSets Selection sets for T-splines points, edges, faces, objects, and Rhino objects are now available to more easily keep track of selections.
  • “Poor man’s reverse engineering”: new commands tsPull will suck the control points of a t-spline primitive to a polysurface or mesh, then tsInterpolate will make the T-Splines smooth mode pass through those control points. These commands are in an early stage and we’re looking forward to feedback as to how we should improve them.
  • Export Bezier patches and elements suitable for isogeometric analysis.

Improved commands
  • Primitives (tsBox, tsPlane, tsCone, tsTorus, tsSphere, tsCylinder) can now be created anywhere in the scene.
  • tsSymmetry has been completely rewritten, with a number of improvements:
    • Symmetric objects can be oriented to any cPlane, anywhere in the scene.
    • Symmetry can now be discovered on existing objects without first deleting half the model.
    • Symmetry can be turned off on part of a model while the rest of the model continues to be symmetric.

Other improvements
  • UVs are now supported.
  • Improved speed and greater capacity to handle larger models (we completely rewrote the core T-Splines code to handle speedups but are still in the process of actually speeding things up in this WIP).
  • 64-bit Rhino v5 support (not in this version of the WIP)

Below are videos that demonstrate some of the new v3 WIP features. You can change the resolution by clicking on the "360p" after you start the video. Please leave any comments or suggestions about v3 in this post.

tsPull and tsInterpolate


tsPull


Selection Sets


Improved symmetry


Piping


Speed settings
User avatar
Matt Sederberg
Employee
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:27 am
Location: Provo, UT

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ca-cycleworks » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:49 pm

Fantastic! Thanks for your hard work. I've got a 4GHz Core 2 Duo system just now ready so I can get back on my problem child project. :mrgreen: BTW - it looks like T-Splines V2 must be installed prior to V3 WIP. I'll try in 64-bit land in a fresh install, but that could be problematic for some folks.
ca-cycleworks
Poster
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Adam Helps » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:56 pm

ca-cycleworks wrote: BTW - it looks like T-Splines V2 must be installed prior to V3 WIP. I'll try in 64-bit land in a fresh install, but that could be problematic for some folks.


I'm pretty sure you only need a T-Splines version 2 license installed. However, the way most folks get their license is by installing version 2 and then typing in the key.

It is technically possible to get a v2 license without first installing v2 on the machine (see our license generation page), but it's honestly pretty complicated. You should give us a poke if you need help with this.
User avatar
Adam Helps
Employee
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Provo, Utah

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Nicholas North » Fri Dec 03, 2010 1:02 pm

The tsActivateLicense command should still work on a v3 WIP. A T-Splines v2 activation key should be all that's required to get the plugin going on a clean install using this command. Of course, if you already have a valid v2 license installed then activation shouldn't be necessary.
User avatar
Nicholas North
Employee
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Utah

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ca-cycleworks » Fri Dec 03, 2010 3:43 pm

Great, thanks! They made me work, so I haven't spent time on it. I'll do that in the next couple of hours and see how it goes. :)
ca-cycleworks
Poster
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ca-cycleworks » Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:40 pm

This install path works:
Install latest R5 WIP (11-30-2010)
Install latest T-Splines from this page.
Then the tsA.... command works. Or menu T-Splines/utilities/Activate License

I'm pretty sure my issue was missing the r5 wip updates, etc etc. :)
ca-cycleworks
Poster
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Hamishk » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:32 pm

Transcript of piping video posted above in this thread.

Substituted every instance of "tsmatch" in the video into "tspipe" :D
Attachments
TsPipe_V3_Tsplines_WIP_VideoTranscript.pdf
(1.32 MiB) Downloaded 572 times
Hamishk
Poster
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:02 am

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ricardo » Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:23 pm

Getting a V3 license expired code(-3) here...
ricardo
Poster
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 5:39 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Adam Helps » Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:41 pm

Ricardo: You are probably not on the latest WIP version (WIP 3). Please download the new one and install it. We put fairly short expiration dates on our WIP licenses to try and keep everyone up-to-date; it helps us to avoid redundant bug reports.

Sorry for the inconvenience.
User avatar
Adam Helps
Employee
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Provo, Utah

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ricardo » Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:15 am

That's fine, Thanks.
ricardo
Poster
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 5:39 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ca-cycleworks » Fri Dec 10, 2010 8:46 pm

Hi,

McNeel downloaded rh50beta_x64_en_20101207_1811.msi and wants me to update to it. Does it work with T-Splines v3 wip3? I wanted to ask before blindly obeying.

FYI, Rhino runs a system process service to check for and download latest versions. I haven't yet decided if I wanted to hunt that down and kill it or not. It will download updates to C:\ProgramData\McNeel\RhinoUpdates64\Installers\.... (or to the comparable RhinoUpdates32)
I'm using windows 7. Not sure if it's different for XP.

Thanks!
Chris
ca-cycleworks
Poster
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Adam Helps » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:38 pm

Chris,

In our experience, newer versions of Rhino generally work fine with T-Splines. They break things very rarely. So I'd suggest staying up-to-date on Rhino. In general, we see a far larger number of problems/tech support issues caused by using a version of Rhino which is too old, while problems caused by upgrading are comparatively rare. In some cases, we report bugs that are only apparent when using T-Splines, so Rhino updates occasionally fix T-Splines-specific problems.
User avatar
Adam Helps
Employee
 
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:15 pm
Location: Provo, Utah

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby ca-cycleworks » Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:41 am

Thanks Adam! I appreciate the encouragement. Guess what? It worked. ;)
Thanks!
Chris
ca-cycleworks
Poster
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2010 4:45 pm

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby alexlaik » Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:25 am

Hi,

can I try the third version of T-Splines without a license from the second version?
alexlaik
Poster
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:26 am

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Matt Sederberg » Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:02 am

alexlaik wrote:Hi,

can I try the third version of T-Splines without a license from the second version?


Hi Alex,

You'll need a T-Splines v2 license to use T-Splines v3. The good news is that if you buy T-Splines v2 now, you can get a free upgrade to v3 when it is released.

Thanks,
Matt
User avatar
Matt Sederberg
Employee
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:27 am
Location: Provo, UT

Re: T-Splines v3 WIP 3 available

Postby Matt Sederberg » Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:07 pm

WIP 4 is now released: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30309
User avatar
Matt Sederberg
Employee
 
Posts: 1541
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 11:27 am
Location: Provo, UT


Return to Autodesk T-Splines Plug-in for Rhino modeling

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

 
cron